Databases

Provides Wisconsin residents access to quality online information in cooperation with the state's library community.

Current articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers.

Provides databases with full text articles.

OEM repair, maintenance, and service information on most cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Provides step-by-step procedures, diagnostic and troubleshooting help, and a video library.

How-to instructions and creative ideas for crafters, collectors, foodies and fans

Magazines & reference books on home improvement and repair project topics.

This database gives detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.

Business Source Premier, is the industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998

Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (Includes The Daily Reporter from Milwaukee.)

This database gives full text journals and magazine articles for high school students enrolled in various Advanced Placement (AP) and International Baccalaureate (IB) courses.

Magazines, journals, reference eBooks, and other sources from most EBSCO resources.

Gale Courses deliver engaging, instructor-led online courses focused on professional development, technology skills (including Microsoft Office applications), and personal enrichment to transform lives and foster positive changes in your community.

TeachingBooks a diverse and constantly growing online collection of multimedia K-12 book and author resources that helps teachers integrate books throughout the curriculum.

On-demand video courses in the areas of business, tech, and personal development across 75+ different categories.

Enciclopedia español para los estudiantes más jóvenes y educadores. Spanish encyclopedia for younger students and educators.

Enciclopedia española para estudiantes mayores y educadores. Spanish encyclopedia for older students and educators.

Punto de acceso a bases de datos de EBSCOhost españolas. Para los hispanohablantes. Access point to EBSCOhost Spanish databases. For Spanish speakers.

A source for family history. Census, military records, immigration records, etc.

HeritageQuest Online is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical hobbyists and professionals, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

Jewish Data is one of the largest professional Jewish genealogy databases. The growing collection contains close to a million records with documents, books, and tombstone images from many locations around the world, including Milwaukee. You can access this database remotely with your North Shore Library Card and pin number. It is also available for use at the North Shore Library. Available through the generous donation of Rabbi Avraham Laber.

Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. For college-level and adult researchers.

Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

Consumer-oriented health content, from mainstream to holistic medicine. For high school students, college-level, and adult researchers.

Transparent Language Online provides a fun and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Language courses include supplemental vocabulary and grammar resources. As well, Transparent Language offers a American Citizenship Test preparation course. With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner..

In-Person Tutoring

In-Person tutoring for adults, through a partnership with Literacy Services of Wisconsin. These tutors can help with reading, writing, math, English language learning, and GED/HSED preparation.

To learn more and get started, please call Literacy Services of Wisconsin at 414-344-5878.

Online Tutoring

Reading Horizons is an online tutoring platform that is available to all residents of Milwaukee County. You will be guided through lessons that teach basic reading skills, vocabulary, grammar, word pronunciation, and more. The verbal instruction is easy to understand, and leads you through each step.

To get started, click on the button below. You will be taken to a form to put in your first and last name, and an email address. After you submit the form, you will get an email within 2 days, with a log-in link to get started with your lessons.

Click here to watch a demo video.

Online Daily News

You can practice your skills by reading daily news articles from The Juice, written at an easier reading level than newspapers or magazines. You can change the reading level to find the best fit for you. This is also a great way to get the whole family involved; discuss the daily news with your kids!

Click here to watch a demo video.

The Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature.

NoveList Plus is a great tool for avid readers of all ages. Providing extensive read alike and topical reading lists NoveList Plus will connect any reader with their next book. NoveList Plus also provides access to full text reviews, annotations, publication information, subject headings and more for works of fiction and nonfiction.

Full-text daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 90 days ago, plus newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s. This database is for student and adult researchers.

Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.

Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s-2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Current and archival to 1980s U.S. news featuring key national and regional sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune as well as over 80 Gannett titles.

Learning resource collection tailored to the unique needs of young children. Similar to Britannica School Early Elementary, but for the public library setting.

MasterFILE Complete features more than 2,300 full text magazines and journals. It covers topics such as business, health, education, fitness, leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issue, DIY and fashion. The database offers photos, maps and flags. It features over 73,000 full text primary source documents as well and videos from the Associated Press.

Current news for all branches of the military and government. For student and adult researchers.